Mom's Baggage

Our lives have so much baggage and baggage doesn't mean just the bad stuff either–baggage is life. When you travel you take your baggage. In your baggage you have daily necessities, a few indulgences and a few less wonderful things such as pantyhose for that formal event (I consider those a negative thing in life). I think life is full of the good, the bad and the ugly. This is my baggage.

Well, this should be fun…

on October 10, 2019

Hello blog-o-sphere! I haven’t blogged in so long I didn’t know my password and wasn’t really sure where to start. It’s been a loooong time. But rather than catching up on all that has been going on in my world for the last several years I will tell you, instead, what precipitated a return. My employer has a wellness program where you get “Points” for completing certain challenges and I decided I would complete the “Remember Me” challenge. You have to spend 10 minutes a day reminiscing about your life. Earliest memories, childhood, etc., etc.

Like most adults there are things about my childhood I remember and wish I didn’t. My parents were not meth heads, hobos, or slackers. They were parents doing the best they could with the skills, funds, jobs and hearts that they had. I won’t focus on that messy stuff here. Instead I’ll focus on the good stuff I remember.

Earliest childhood memory? That’s pretty tough because they get all jumbled and mixed in my head but I remember living in a small town (maybe Levelland or Lubbock?) and trying to sweet the dirt off the back porch and my mom telling me there wasn’t a back porch…so I was sweeping dirt. Guess I been a neat-nick for a long time. I remember, vaguely, sitting on the top of a backyard shed and watching a football game over the back fence at the school behind the house (Lubbock?) and I have vague memories of nap-time and nap-mats in kindergarten-I have no idea where we lived then.

We moved to our house on Petroleum Drive in Odessa partway through my 2nd grade year-maybe 1976 or 77. The house had green shag carpet and we had a cool little rake the rake the carpet with (only I would think that was cool) and I remember when we were moving in laying on the green shag on my stomach in the living room watching “Price Is Right”. They had the year all in neon lights on the set. I seem to remember the “kids” bathroom was painted pink…very, very pink with trim that had little pink tassle things at the border between the tile and the sheetrock on the wall.

My ten minutes of time are already up?! How is that possible!


Leave a comment